navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

A Flake Off the Old Block (Wednesday, Jul. 17, 2002 - 8:41 a.m.)

Why are people such colossal flakes so much of the time? My cousin was supposed to arrive tomorrow morning. We were going to spend the day around the city, go out partying at night, and then I was going to drive her down to Santa Cruz on Friday morning. Well, she somehow just realized that she's in Italy and won't be back until late tonight, so she changed her ticket. She now gets in tomorrow EVENING. Yeah, basically we now get to have brunch or something.

I think it's lack of personal responsibility for commitments to other people. This is a person who grew up being given everything. She was an only child for the first ten years of her life, with parents who divorced early and bought her everything. Rather than have to take stuff back and forth, she had duplicates of everything, including her stuffed animals. That never would have worked for me, it wasn't about what they looked like. But I digress. It's the sense of entitlement.

The thing is she doesn't come across as spoiled. I always found that remarkable, as did many other people. And she's not, at least not in the traditional sense. But I think this sort of thing is a form of being spoiled. This is not the first time this sort of thing has happened. I don't know if it's immaturity or lack of example or what. Her mother is the person who's life runs forty-five minutes late. It could be a carry-over of that.

The point is, I had my whole week structured around this. There's nothing I'll miss doing per say, as I have Ken coming in to town a few days later and we will be doing all the touristy stuff then. Perhaps I can persuade her to stay until later on Friday. But still, the point is this is incredibly rude. She already knew she would be arriving home from Italy the day before. It's called planning ahead, people.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal