navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

the hanged man (2001-04-22 - 12:38 a.m.)

I have no idea what to write, but I must get in the habit of writing more often.

My dear one is leaving again tomorrow for yet another nerd boot camp. This is actually what they are called. He was gone three weeks in March where he emerged with a MCSE, which basically makes him Bill Gates's bitch. Now he is leaving to get the similar degree from Oracle, and next month he becomes a Linux engineer. Nine weeks of classes and three bona fide degrees. This is the man who took ten years to get through junior college.

I have been having all kinds of doubts about my career path. I am so sick of hearing people's problems all day, and I'm only four years into this. I've been doing a lot of soul searching, and what I would love to do (but would NEVER have the guts) is quit my job and become a Tarot reader in a metaphysical bookstore. Set up a small room. I'd still get to counsel, but I could actually give advice. I was actually offered a job last summer in Lake Tahoe of all places. I would love to be up there permanently, but it's a little too removed from the city. I did work briefly (3 days) for a psychic phone line, but I couldn't deal with company policy. You had to average 20 minute calls. I don't know why. They make the same money on four five minute calls as one 20 minute one. Plus, those are such a rip off. They were charging five dollars a minute! Someone had to be making bank- we were paid ten bucks an hour. I felt the need to tell these people that for about 30 bucks, they could get a half hour reading from a face to face person, which would be far more accurate anyways. I would love to do that. I love reading for people. We only have one store that could be considered metaphysical up here, and unfortunatly they don't have a reading room. They really focus more on the eastern religions. I could commute though. There are some great places like that in the city. Although that wouldn't be worth it. It would cost me so much to get there that it wouldn't be worth it. I wish there was more up here. Also with something like that I could accept barter. That is one of the suckiest things about counseling- if you can't pay then oh well. It is AGAINST THE LAW to accept any form of barter. If I was reading cards, I could accept things like vegetables and artwork as payment.

Not like I'd ever have the courage to do that. Plus, it would be hard to leave my job. I am valued there, and I'm a sucker for flattery. And it always seems to come at the most inappropriate times. I had decided not to return to the middle school next year. As I was on my way to tell them that, one of the teachers who I've never met face to face stopped me in the hall to thank me for helping two of his students.

I love those kids too much to leave.

Well, I will definitly be back in the same job next year. Hopefully I will be on maternity leave after that. He is ready. We are waiting until this summer, because if I can commit to working through the end of March there is a nice summer bonus in it for me. I can deal with waiting two more months.

Well till next time.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal