navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

Post-Hanukkah Rant (Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2002 - 4:52 p.m.)

I know Hanukkah is over. But I was just struck with an incredible irony. I was reading the current issue of Generation J and in particular an article on how consumerism is ruining the spiritual aspects of the holiday. The main thing that struck me (and that the article didn't even mention) is that by treating it as the Jewish Christmas, we are contradicting it's reason for existance.

Hanukkah is the victory celebration over the Maccabean revolts. Basically, the Greeks were trying to force the Jews to assimilate, and this was the Jewish resistance to that. By taking the coincidence that Hanukkah falls between Thanksgiving and New Years and turning it into a gift giving occasion, we are assimilating to another culture, the current dominant one.

But I still want presents.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal