navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

I Am What I Do, and Ken Sucks (Tuesday, Jul. 09, 2002 - 4:35 p.m.)

I have come to the disturbing conclusion that my shrink is right. I do define myself by my productivity. The doldrums of the last few days seem to have disappeared, now that I have a new project.

I found an even more perfect job today. There is a charter high school looking for a counselor. Keep your fingers crossed for Chasha.

I also think Ken himself has helped me realize a huge reason why it never should happen. He posted on our yahoogroup last night. He wrote what was basically a long essay wherein he didn't actually say he never wants kids, but implied that if we all really think about the sacrifices parenthood requires, that none of us will either. That definitly helps things. Not that I have any faith that a week from now I won't be all mooney over him again. Grrr.

He did bring up some valid points, however. Of course he did. He's Ken. That's what he does. Anyhow, he talked about how his sister's life is no longer her own, and how she had to give up the simple things like going out with friends and going to movies. Now, maybe it's just me, but my family was never like that. We were left with a sitter at least once a week. My friends who have kids now don't seem to use this option. And it's not only the ones who struggle financially. I guess nobody trusts their neighbors' kids anymore. It's sad. I've spent the last three years working with high risk teens, and I'd still feel comfortable using a sitter I knew. Of course, being as I don't have a child that's easy enough to say.

This is another reason I hate him. He's usually right.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal