navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

Smoking Pot(ter) (Friday, Nov. 16, 2001 - 3:18 p.m.)

Well I saw the Harry Potter movie.

Ok, the cinematography was awesome. The Quiddich scene was the best.

They left WAY too much out. They didn't develop half the characters enough to justify the story points they put in. Particularly lacking in enough substance to make the movie make sense were Neville and Malfoy. The personalities of the houses were not given much attention, so the sorting hat dilemma made absolutely no sense. It seemed that he just wanted to be in the house with his friends, without any of the moral reasons behind it. And the part at the end, which I won't mention as to spoil it for the three people left who haven't read the book and haven't seen it yet, I'll just say the part about Neville, they didn't develop him enough to have that have any meaning whatsoever. And the Weasley twins got no screen time, and they are my favorites in the book. I worry how much they will edit for the rest of them. Those books are so much longer than the first, and this movie was over two hours long.

I also do not get why this movie is being protested. Even thought they were witches and such, there is nothing remotely pagan about it. What, because they don't go to church? How many movies show that anyways.

As for the portrayal of females as victims, I didn't see that. Yes, they rescued Hermione from the troll, but they were only able to do it by following the instructions she was yelling out at them. And in the end it was she who saved them. She was annoying in the movie, but not nearly as annoying as she is in the books. And an added plus; I actually know how to pronounce her name now.

Well, have a better weekend then I will have.

Shabbat Shalom.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal