navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

Nesting (2000-12-19 - 02:10:02)

I FINALLY got to go back to work today. It wasn't as bad as I thought. Only a couple of my clients were resentful.

My house is newly clean and organized, and I HAVE CLAIMED THE PINK ROOM. Let me explain. During the 90's, I had eleven addresses. Yes, I moved that many times. My parents are divorced, and both of them moved within the same year. Then I went to college. I had a series of apartments. Then we moved out here and rented a house. Our landlady decided to sell it, so we had to rent another house. Now that was an interesting one. The main part of the house had been a double-wide trailer. One wall had been knocked out and the house had been built on to and then re-sided. But the main thing was that we shared the property with our landlord, who was basically Fred Sanford. And he was constantly high. So finally, three years ago, we decided it was time to buy a house so we would no longer be at the mercy of some property owner's whim.

One thing about a long series of rentals is eventually you get sick of always having white walls. Our first act when we got the keys to this place was to choose bright colors for all the upstairs rooms. We have a 4 bedroom house (thinking ahead). But until we fill it with little ones (soon, I hope) we had divided the rooms as such: We would each have our own office. He painted his navy blue, and I painted mine yellow (it gets the least amount of sunlight in the house- it needed to be yellow). We decided the remaining room would be a guest room/library. We decided to paint it scarlet. Do you know what happens when two amateurs apply scarlet paint to white walls? We didn't, and in case you don't know, it turns it hot pink. So we have a hot pink room.

Anyhow, when I got my master's degree, I decided I no longer need an office. We had already agreed that the yellow room would be the first to become a child's room when the time comes. So I decided to empty it now. I got everything out of it, and put the stuff I want to hold onto in the pink room. Because of its pinkness, my husband stays far away from it whenever possible. I actually got it looking quite pretty. And now, it is my reading room. Yeah. Peace and happiness. I will go in there and never be bothered, ever. Oh, it is also a pet free zone. We had decided when we moved in to keep the pets out of that room at all times so that if we ever have a guest who is allergic they will have a place to stay.

Not much else going on. I'm going to meet my friend's new baby the day after tomorrow (yes, the doctor says it will be fine). I'm excited. I'm already packed.

I also got rid of almost all of my beanie babies. As I mentioned, they were beginning to take over the house and I put most of them up on ebay. They all sold and all the bidders have been prompt in paying. Coolness. They are now out of my house.

Let's see if I can make it until February before the house is a disaster area again.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal