navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

Writing (2000-11-13 - 01:13:56)

There once was a chick from Novato

Who's social life was completely blotto

Her friends lived afar

Post-college that is par

But it's time to move on and she's not-o.

That was the first poem I've written in about six years. I used to write them constantly. Granted I was fifteen and thought I was incredibly deep, but it was still good practice. I am now entering my fifth year of writers block. I haven't been trying that hard. I didn't even try for the three years I was in grad school. I now feel like I've lost it. Maybe this is what I will focus this diary on. Trying to plant seeds for a new story. I had some great ones. I think part of the problem is that I keep returning to the same two characters for everything that I finish.

I need to spy on more people. When I needed a good character, I used to hang out in the student union, pretending to read a paper while actually eavesdropping on the conversations around me. Have you ever really paid attention to the kinds of things people say when they are trying to avoid silence? It can be quite amuzing.

Non fiction wise I am making progress. I am in the process of writing a book on Tarot, and it is coming along very well. My sweet dear friend is illustrating the deck, and she is probably one of the most amazing artists of our generation, so I know it will turn out well.

For all aspiring writers out there, DON'T STOP!!!

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal