navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

Dad on the Battle of the Sexes (Saturday, Jun. 21, 2003 - 8:20 p.m.)

Ok, I can't count this as a Dad Fact, as I've heard it from other, um, shall I say, "enlightened" men as well. But the logic and direction of the argument was pure Dad.

Cindi and I were talking about dating, and how slim the ratio of ones you actually like are. I had mentioned that the worst was when you totally connect as a person and really think they're cool, but aren't attracted to them. Dad chipped in that this is when you should just be friends so as to meet their friends. I pointed out that this only works if they aren't attracted to you either. He said that will never happen because, get this, guys are only friends with women they are attracted to. "A man isn't going to bother hanging around with a woman he's not attracted to."

I pointed out that two of my best friends are guys, and only one of them is gay. I told him (unfortunatly quite truthfully) that I could say with absolute certainty that Ken is not attracted to me. His response was "let's see what happens when you lose the weight."

Had it not been for his origional thesis, this would not have been an unusual statement for him in any way. But what exacty is he implying? That Ken is friends with me in anticipation of me losing weight? As you see, this is a bit confusing here. This is not a Dad Fact, but it is certainly Dad Logic.

To top this off, as we were getting out of the car, Cindi whispered to me: "You don't know for sure that he's not attracted to you. You just know he considers you off limits."

Thank you. That's the last thing I need to be thinking about.

-CRbE

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal