navigate
latest
oldest
archives
cast
diaryland
me
profile
notes
email
g-book
favourites
weetabix
bindyree
alwayslolita
the87loft
lisse
intemperance
dogsdontpurr
reenyp73
jesushomeboy
nudeplatypus
swimmmer72
Andrew
genghis-jon
ann-frank
argentum
milkmaid
nitpick
smartypants

Whine and Roses (2001-01-10 - 23:32:19)

I just heard thunder. Most of you would say so what, but I haven't heard thunder in the nearly five years I've lived out here. I don't know why. We've certainly had our share of rain storms. Just none of the electrical variety. It never even occured to me that it was absent until now.

Work has been non stop drama. You can tell me I should expect that working with teenagers, but it is the other supposed adults who are creating it. We have some new teachers who, how shall we say this, think our program is a waste of time and resources. Luckily these people have no say with regards to funding. They just will not allow their students to miss class for us. They think support groups do not belong in the schools. If students need extra support, they need to find it elsewhere in the community. I think recent occurances in schools have proved that WE ARE PROVIDING A NECESSARY AND ESSENTIAL SERVICE. We are giving students an option. We are providing them with a place where it is safe to talk about what they are going through. We are educating them about themselves, which is just as important as the academics. I even go out of my way to accommodate their schedules so that they don't miss classes where they are struggling to keep up.

No, we didn't have anything like this in our school. I think it would have been nice if we did. I definitly could have used it.

Why does nobody want to admit that we are failing with our youth?

last - next

free hit counter
hit counter
Recent Entries
Bye - Tuesday, April 6, 2010
Helloooooo!!! Echooooo!!!!!!!! - Monday, Jul. 21, 2008
Why I think the Department of Immigration sux - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
'Cause I'm That Cool - Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
Four Years in one entry - Saturday, Jul. 19, 2008
more chasha
Wordpress
LiveJournal